Every two minutes, someone is injured in a drunk driving crash. Furthermore, each day 27 people die as a result of driving drunk, according to traffic facts published by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) holds serious implications and is considered a criminal offense. Not only do you face arrest and jail time, but you can also lose your license and be subject to a growing list of monetary fees, even for first-time DUI offenders.
Potential Consequences of a First-Time DUI Charge
- Two days to six months in jail
- Fines ranging from $400 to $1,000
- Court costs and other legal fees
- Payment and completion of the Nevada Victim Impact Panel
- Payment and completion of an alcohol/drug dependency evaluation
- Payment and completion of an alcohol/drug abuse treatment program (if BAC was .18 or greater)
- Payment and completion of Nevada DUI School
- Installation and maintenance of a Nevada Breath Interlock Device for 12 to 36 months
- 90-day suspension of your driver’s license, plus reinstatement fees
Other potential consequences
- Getting your car impounded by police at time of arrest
- Payment to retrieve car from police impound
- Bail bondsman costs, if applicable
- Insurance premium spikes
Drunk driving arrests, accidents and deaths are 100 percent avoidable. There are a number of services available to ensure you safely make it to your final destination. In Las Vegas, Designated Drivers Inc. will get both you and your car home safely. To learn more about Designated Drivers Inc., call (702) 456-RIDE (7433) or head to their website at http://vegas.designateddriversinc.com.
DUIs are complex legal matters and it’s important to have the proper legal representation on your side. If you’ve been stopped and arrested while driving under the influence and are facing DUI charges, call Ticket Busters today for a case consultation at (702) 666-6666.