In Nevada, you can get pulled over for failing to stop for a school bus. Once stopped, the school bus driver should activate a flashing red signal with a stop sign on the side of the school bus indicating that children are leaving or entering the school bus. Until the school bus driver turns the flashing signal off and the stop sign is retracted off the side, you are not permitted to pass them. This charge is considered a misdemeanor in the State of Nevada and can carry at least a $250 fine with demerit points.
When Do I Stop for a School Bus?
Whenever the driver sees a school bus ahead of them and they turn on their flashing red signal. You must stop whenever they stop, and you are not allowed to proceed until the light is off and they start moving. Additionally, on a two-way road, vehicles from both directions of the road must stop and stay stopped until the flashing red signal is turned off. The purpose of this law, NRS 484B.353, is to prioritize the safety of children in school zones either getting off the bus to go to school or getting on the bus to get home after school. There is one exception to this rule, and it is on divided highways. If the school bus is stopped on one side of the highway and there is a physical barrier between the two directions, you do not have to stop for the school bus.
Penalties for Failing to Stop for a School Bus
The penalties for failing to stop for a school bus get worse every time you are convicted. For the first offense, you will receive anywhere from $250 to $500 in fines and 4 demerit points added onto your driver’s license. If you receive a second offense within one year of the first offense, you will receive a fine of anywhere from $250 to $500 and have your driver’s license suspended for 6 months. If you receive a third offense or subsequent offense within a two-year period of the most recent offense, you will receive anywhere up to $1,000 in fines and a driver license suspension for up to one year. In Las Vegas, the fine for a first-time offense is typically $305.
Can I Get the Charge Reduced?
Depending on your case, you may be able to get your charge reduced to a non-moving violation, or even dismissed. Having your charge dismissed is always the ideal case, and having a clean driving record and a trusted attorney by your side will potentially give you an advantage on having your case dismissed. If the prosecutor refuses, your defense attorney can try to lessen the charge to a non-moving violation through a plea deal. The advantage of having your charge reduced to a non-moving violation is that non-moving violations carry no demerit points and your auto insurance typically will not increase. If you do have a clean driving record, it is very probable that the judge will lessen your charge to a non-moving violation.
Will I Have to Go to Traffic School?
The judge may or may not issue traffic school for the defendant for allegedly failing to stop for a school bus. However, completing traffic school gives the defendant an advantage to having the charge reduced to a non-moving violation. It is up to your defense attorney to work out a deal with the judge for completing traffic school and having your charge reduced. If possible, completing traffic school for a non-moving violation would be beneficial because it carries no demerit points and your insurance rates would not go up.
Receiving a ticket for failing to stop for a school bus can hurt your record and your pocket. If you or a loved one has been charged for failing to stop for a school bus, it is important that you reach out to a trusted legal team for help in court. At Ticket Busters, our experienced attorneys know the Nevada laws and the rules of the road better than anyone else. Reach out to our team for aggressive help in court so that you can potentially get your ticket reduced to a non-moving violation, or even dismissed.