NRS 484B.413 is the official law in Nevada for failing to signal properly while driving.
This can happen on any street or highway. If there is a highway patrol or police officer that sees this infraction a driver may find themselves being pulled over for a traffic ticket.
The turning signal is to be used in these situations to make the roads safer.
This law contains the rules for turning onto a highway and also using the signal for stopping or slowing down.
Let’s take a look at the laws definition and see what the rules are really all about.
- A driver must use reasonable safety when turning onto a highway.
- A pedestrian must be given an audible signal like a horn if they are in the road for their safety.
- A car must put on the turning signal to let the car behind them know that they are turning.
- A vehicle must show their intention and put their signal on for at least 100 feet before turning left or right in a business or residential area and no less than 300 feet in other locations such as highways.
- These rules must be adhered to no matter what the weather is.
- The driver must also not stop or slow down without signaling to the other drivers.
The maintenance of the vehicle is always important and one should always check the lights and turn signals to make sure they are in proper working order.
What Are the Penalties for a Failure to Signal Traffic Violation
In the state of Nevada including the Las Vegas Valley a first offense can cost you an approximate $200 fine and 1 demerit point.
Fines for a misdemeanor can go up to $1000 but rarely do in this type of case.
This doesn’t sound so bad, but if you ignore the ticket and don’t pay the fine or appear at a hearing the penalties can escalate.
A judge could then issue a bench warrant and fines will increase.
There is the possibility of being arrested as well. It is important to handle traffic tickets immediately and best to get the help of a traffic ticket attorney like those at Ticket Busters.
How Can Ticket Busters Help
Start by giving us a call, email or just drop by the office.
There is no appointment necessary and our first consultation is free.
Let our attorneys help.
Just get us all the info on your ticket like; citation number, contact info, court dates and anything else that could help your case.
It is important if there is an eyewitness or video camera evidence.
If so, get this to the attorney as well. This way we can get to work for you handling the legalities while keeping you updated as we go.
This will help take some of the stress off you.
It is possible to negotiate the charges on the failure to signal violation down or in some cases even get the ticket dismissed.
Is Traffic School Required on a Failure to Signal Citation
When it comes to traffic school it is not required on a failure to signal misdemeanor ticket.
In some cases, it can be helpful in lowering the demerit points.
Lowering the demerit points to 0 and getting a moving violation changed to a non-moving violation can help keep your insurance from going up in some instances.
Ask our attorneys at Ticket Busters to help find out all your answers to the questions you may have.
Don’t end up wasting your day getting anwers at DMV, instead avoid the ticket.
Is it Possible to Be Deported Over a Failure to Signal Ticket
A failure to signal ticket is not a deportable offense at the moment.
It is highly suggested that you get an attorney if you are an immigrant or undocumented person and receive a traffic citation.
Immigration laws are constantly changing and it is best to be professionally defended.
The Ticket Buster attorneys will give you the up to the minute laws concerning these matters.
Some Common Reasons for a Failure to Signal Ticket
If you are in a car traveling down a city street, country road or changing lanes on the freeway it is required that a driver use their blinker to signal that they are turning.
This is true whether you are making a right or left turn.
If an officer sees you in violation, they have every right to pull you over.
Sometimes a person does not realize that another car is around and doesn’t use the turn signal.
Sometimes a light can be burned out and the person does not know it.
An officer may give you a warning or they may go ahead and issue a misdemeanor citation.
It is sometimes just laziness on the driver’s part that they don’t put the signal on.
A driver may be distracted by a cell phone or conversation and not fully aware of the circumstances around them.
Driving a motor vehicle can be unpredictable.
A driver may quickly have to make a lane change to avoid an accident.
This may be another possible reason that a signal was not put on.
I know that most of us have been on the road and had to react to something or someone quickly.
The situation happened so fast that there was no time to think about putting a blinker on, especially on for 100 or 300 feet prior to turning or lane changing.
If you receive a ticket in a situation like this it can be frustrating and seem unfair.
Sometimes it is hard to prove this in court unless there is hard evidence that is irrefutable.
Ticket Busters can help you with your defense.
Let our specialized traffic ticket staff defend your case.
Failure to Signal Ticket and a Commercial Driver’s License
A person has to be at least 21 years old to get a CDL license.
If a driver is issued this traffic citation for not using a turn signal there will be 1 demerit point added to the persons CDL as well as their personal driver’s license.
With a commercial driver’s license there are more issues that can come with a ticket.
A person must notify their employer within 30 days of the ticket.
As a driver with a CDL it is more serious when getting a traffic ticket.
Changing lanes without proper signaling can be thought of as negligent and erratic driving. First time offense is one thing, but if the driver gets more of these tickets it can lead to their license being suspended.
If you have 3 serious offenses in 3 years your license may be suspended for 120 days.
This can be devastating to a commercial driver and lost wages can really hurt.
Don’t let this happen.
It is definitely in a commercial driver’s best interest to hire an attorney and reduce their demerit points if possible.
More Info on Demerit Points in Nevada
Demerit points will stay on your license for 12 months.
The 1 demerit point doesn’t seem like much but can add up if you receive other tickets that have more points.
The DMV can suspend your license if the points add up to 12 in 1 year.
A license can be suspended for 6 months which can be crushing to the daily life of an individual.
It is obviously best to be proactive in trying to avoid any demerit points from adding up.
Traffic tickets may seem like nothing but if not handled properly can create big problems for a person.
Driving in Nevada on a suspended license can carry a penalty of 6 months in jail and up to $1000 fines.
Another thing to consider is that insurance rates can go up.
We all know how the cost of everything seems to be increasing in our daily lives and the insurance companies are always looking for ways to increase your rates.
The more demerit points you receive the chance that your insurance rates will go up too.
Out of State Licenses and Traffic Tickets
If you get a traffic ticket it is important to check with the state that your license is in.
Demerit points may be similar in some states and different in others.
Make sure you don’t ignore an out of state ticket and that the ticket gets properly resolved.
Don’t let a simple traffic ticket turn into something that can come back and haunt you in the future.
Should I Just Pay the Ticket
In Nevada you must either pay the ticket or show up.
You can go ahead and just pay the ticket on-line if you want.
Demerit points will be issued though.
Problem is you then give up all your rights to appear in court and/or fight the charges.
You can have an attorney appear in court and fight the ticket on your behalf.
It is usually recommended that you have an attorney negotiate the traffic ticket for you in order to get you the best result.