Beating a Carpool Violation in Nevada
Everyone has been stuck in traffic on the freeway and looks over watching the people in the carpool or HOV lane driving by with no traffic.
Sometimes you think I’ll take my chances and just do it, go in the HOV lane to avoid traffic or get somewhere faster.
Well in Nevada driving in the carpool lane with less than two or more passengers can result in a ticket of up to a $352 fine and 4 demerit points on your license.
So as much as it may seem like a good idea at the time, driving in the HOV lane can be costly.
When Can I Drive in The HOV or Carpool Lane in Nevada
There are certain criteria other than a multi passenger vehicle when you can legally drive in the HOV or carpool lane.
- If the vehicle is a motorcycle- yes one person on a motorcycle can drive in the carpool lane to keep the flow of traffic moving
- If the vehicle is a bus- busses usually carry more than 2 passengers but even if they don’t have any passengers they are legally allowed to drive in the HOV lane
- If the vehicle is an emergency vehicle- Emergency vehicles can use the HOV or carpool lane at any time for any reason
Other than that all other vehicles must have at least 2 passengers to be in the HOV lane.
HOV lanes are available for access 24 hours a day 7 day a week but are mostly used and policed during rush hour traffic.
The Difference Between the HOV Lane and Express Lane
The HOV lane or the High Occupancy Vehicle lanes are designed to let people with more than one person in the vehicle move through traffic faster.
The express lanes are designed to separate the short distance drivers getting off at local exits from long distance drivers driving long distance.
The HOV lanes have higher speed limits than the rest of the freeways to move traffic faster.
The average speed limit is 65 miles per hour on the freeways in Nevada.
However, if caught speeding in the carpool lane the speeding ticket fine may be doubled.
How Do I Fight The Charges for Driving in Carpool Lane in Las Vegas
A carpool violation ticket will cost you a fine of $352 and 4 demerit points on your license.
This is considered a civil infraction in Nevada and NOT a misdemeanor.
However the fine is large and the 4 demerits can stay on your license for a year.
Anymore than 3 demerit points per year can cause your insurance to go up for 3 years.
So if you have been cited for a carpool violation you should call The Ticket Busters.
The Ticket Busters can get your fine reduced or the points reduced or even have the case dismissed.
There are a few defenses to fight a carpool violation that The Ticket Busters can use to defend the violation.
These include, you can prove there was more than person in your vehicle using video surveillance, police body cam footage, or witness statements.
The second major defense is that you were not in the HOV lane at all driving alone.
By the way ignorance is not a defense, telling the police that you didn’t know you were in the HOV lane is not going to work since most HOV lanes are well marked.
If your driving record is in good shape and you don’t regularly get tickets The Ticket Busters may be able to get the carpool violation reduced to a non-moving violation and that can get the demerit point reduced or removed altogether.
That’s why hiring Ticket Busters is a good idea if you were pulled over for a carpool violation.
In Nevada receiving 12 moving violation demerit points in one calendar year will result in a suspension of your driving privileges for upto six months.
You will have to go to a hearing with the DMV to have your license reinstated and your car insurance will increase for at least a year.
Having a ticket and DMV expert with you at a DMV hearing is always a good idea.
Ticket Busters can get your demerit points reduced or your moving violation reduced to a non moving violation carrying no demerit points or even get the ticket dismissed.
Call The Ticket Busters today if you have been given a carpool or HOV violation in Nevada.
What Should I do After Being Cited for a Carpool Lane Ticket in Nevada
There are several avenues you can take once you have received a carpool ticket.
You can just pay the ticket and take the 4 demerit points on your license for one year.
This is not suggested though because the fine is steep and the points can result in a suspension of your license and an increase in your auto insurance for up to three years.
The second option is to go to court and fight the ticket yourself.
This is also not recommended since the outcome will usually be the same as just paying the ticket except you made a trip to the courthouse.
The third option is to go to traffic school, this is not required usually but if you voluntarily go, the Nevada DMV will remove 3 demerit points from your license.
The fourth option is to hire The Ticket Busters, we can get the ticket reduced or dismissed and this can mean the difference between having a license and not sometimes.
Call the Ticket Busters today.
What Happens if I Ignore My Carpool or HOV Ticket in Nevada
Once you receive a traffic violation you will be given a court date, usually it says the court date on the ticket or it will be mailed to you.
If you just pay the ticket before the court date the matter will be closed and you will pay the hefty fine of $352c and get the 4 demerit points on your license.
However if you ignore it this could be very costly.
Usually the court will grant you a 30 day grace period to either reschedule your court date or to pay the violation.
If you fail to act within the 30 days grace period a bench warrant will be issued for your arrest.
A person with a bench warrant risks getting arrested if they get pulled over for any reason.
Also the Nevada DMV will suspend the license of any person who fails to appear in court or pay fines.
If you are in this situation you should call a skilled attorney like The Ticket Busters.
The Ticket Busters can ask the judge to recall the bench warrant and resume the case as it was before.
The Ticket Busters can ask the DMV to reinstate your license until the case is resolved.
It’s never a good idea to miss a court date or not pay a court imposed fine but sometimes it happens.
When you are in this situation call The Ticket Busters.
What If You’re in An Accident While Violating the Carpool Law in Nevada
If you are in the HOV or carpool lane in Nevada and you are already breaking the law and you’re involved in a car accident it would be significantly worse than just the accident.
If you are involved in any accident first get medical attention if needed.
You might be considered at fault even if you really aren’t because you are already violating the traffic laws to begin with.
In this case you can be charged with reckless driving.
Reckless driving in Nevada is a misdemeanor with a fine from $250 to $1000 in fines, 8 demerit points on your license and a possible 6 month jail sentence.
Never a place you want to be.
In this case always hire an experienced attorney in traffic law.
Call The Ticket Busters today for a case review.
We have been in Nevada for many many years and have gotten thousands of tickets reduced or dismissed.