Did you know? If you commit a drunk driving or DUI offense in Nevada, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles automatically suspends your license for 90 days. If you receive a second DUI offense within seven years, your license will be suspended for one year. If you receive a third DUI offense, you will face a minimum three-year revocation period. When you are first arrested for a DUI, the arresting police officer will confiscate your license. They will issue you a temporary license, while forwarding the paperwork to the Nevada DMV telling them about the arrest.
Having a driver’s license is needed for most adults to get to work, school, the grocery store, and almost any place you can imagine. To most adults, not having a license can be very intimidating because of the restrictions it puts on your daily life. Receiving a DUI takes away your license and driving privileges, also dampening your driving record and your employment opportunities.
How Do I Reinstate my License?
If you get a DUI and your license is revoked, you have the ability to reinstate your license and driving privileges before the end of the revocation period by installing an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. The ignition interlock device can become expensive, as it costs around $150 to install in your vehicle and around $75 per month for calibration and monitoring. You must also present an SR-22 form for proof of auto insurance, as well as a written test and payment of reinstatement fees to the DMV.
Your life is too important, and a DUI can be very expensive and detrimental.
Process for Restricted License
If you do get your license suspended for a DUI, you may be able to receive a restricted license after you serve half of the period you were suspended for. Having a restricted license gives you the opportunity to drive to significant places such as school, work, doctor, or the grocery store. If you want to receive a restricted license, you must submit an application and show proof of having an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. Once proof is received that you installed an ignition interlock device, the DMV will issue you a driver’s license with restriction Y. You will not be eligible for a restricted license if you receive a second or third DUI offense.
The penalties for violating a restricted license include:
- 30 days to 6 months in jail
- 60 days to 6 months on house arrest
- Anywhere from $500 to $1000 in fines
If my License is Suspended in Nevada, Can I Receive A Valid License in Another State?
People may think if they get their license suspended in Nevada they could go to another state and receive a valid driver’s license, but that is not the case. Your license suspension in Nevada will show up on your records, preventing you from receiving a new valid drivers license. All states have rules to not give you a new valid license until you take care of your suspension in Nevada. Your best bet is to stay in Nevada and address your license suspension directly.
At Ticket Busters, we will help you with your unique needs such as getting your driver’s license back after a DUI. Our skilled team has experienced these situations before and knows how to handle them properly because of our knowledge with DUI guidelines, laws, and the police department, and Nevada courts. We have the legal team in place to look at your particular situation and help work through your issues to get you back on the road.