NRS 484B.165– That’s the index number of the Nevada Revised Statutes (State Law) which applies to talking on cell phones and texting while driving. In the state of Nevada, you may NOT talk on a phone, by holding it to your ear, or read or send text messages, emails, or other forms of electronic communication, while you are behind the wheel operating a motor vehicle. The only exception to this is if you are using a Bluetooth device. It appears that it is OK to initiate a call by hand while driving, but you may not hold the phone to your ear and talk on the phone. It’s probably not even a good idea to hold the phone in your hand while driving.
If you are cited for cell phone use, you are charged with a misdemeanor, and must pay a fine of $50 for the first offense. DMV is instructed by this law, not to treat this first offense as a moving violation. You must wait 7 years for this violation to drop from your record, or, if you are charged a second time during that 7 years, you must pay $100 and DMV will treat it as a moving violation. The third time you are caught talking/texting while driving, during that 7 year period, the fine is $250. These fines may double if you are tagged in a designated work zone. A table summarizing the fines appears below:
Interestingly, there is also an exception built into this law for vehicles controlled by artificial intelligence software, if that autonomous operation is authorized by law. Ray Kurzweil, call your office…but not while driving an un-automated vehicle.
We, at the Richard Harris Law Firm and Ticketbusters, support these measures. We have actively sought to get the message out through our Students With A Cause program in 2011, along with the distribution of “I DNT TXT and Drive” bracelets to area high schools in and the “Driver’s Edge” Program in 2012. We continue to hand them out at events, or you can pick one up at the front desk of either Ticketbusters or Richard Harris Law Firm.
Distracted driving is a major problem and cause of accidents which are completely avoidable. While new drivers are particularly susceptible to distractions, most kids will follow what they see their parents doing.
NEVADA TICKET LAWYERS
If you have been ticketed for distracted driving, or speed, DUI, or have outstanding warrants, you deserve legal representation. Call the ticket lawyers at Ticketbusters. (702) 666-6666.