If you’re like most people in Las Vegas, you came here from somewhere else. In fact, you’ll find that it’s pretty difficult to find a “born and raised” Nevadan in Las Vegas. They’re here, but with the growth that Las Vegas has experienced over the last 30 to 40 years, those folks are harder and harder to find. Try it out and ask your neighbors and people you meet around town where they’re from. You’ll find that it’s pretty difficult to find native Nevadans.
So, you’ve made the plunge and you’re now here. You’ve moved into your new house, condo, or apartment. Welcome to the Silver State! What’s next? Something to add to your to-do list is: register your vehicles. Under Nevada law, you need to do this within 30 days of establishing residency in Nevada. And, in fact, there are penalties if you don’t.
What is a Nevada resident?
The state defines a resident of the state (NRS 483.141) as a person:
- Whose legal residence is in the State of Nevada.
- Who engages in intrastate business and operates in such a business any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, or any person maintaining such vehicles in this State, as the home state of such vehicles.
- Who physically resides in this State and engages in a trade, profession, occupation or accepts gainful employment in this State.
- Who declares that he or she is a resident of this State to obtain privileges not ordinarily extended to nonresidents of this State.
A resident is not an actual tourist, an out-of-state student, a foreign exchange student, a border state employee or a seasonal resident. The Nevada DMV site further explains that active duty military members, their spouses, dependents and others living temporarily in Nevada are not required to transfer their license and registration.
But otherwise if you’ve met the requirements of residency, you have 30 days to register your vehicles with Nevada DMV.
What if I’m late registering my vehicle?
The simple answer is: you can be fined $1,000. This however can be reduced to $200 once you actually register the vehicle and become compliant to the law.
What do I need to register and transfer my driver’s license?
The Nevada DMV website has detailed information regarding what the DMV needs to register vehiclesand transfer driver’s license. Without duplicating that information here, basically, you’ll need 2 documents to prove residency, and you’ll need to provide DMV with a Nevada street address, proof of Nevada insurance, and proof of identity.
Ticket Busters is ready for you if you get a ticket
As a new resident of our state, Ticket Busters welcomes you to Nevada. We hope your move to Nevada goes smoothly and you enjoy all that Las Vegas has to offer.
If you get a ticket in Clark County, we want to be your go-to place to help you resolve the ticket. We can represent you with the court and save you the time of dealing with the courts. We will negotiate the charges, in most cases to a non-moving violation, which will save you points on your record and increased insurance rates. Call our office today for a complete explanation of our services at (702) 666-6666.