Tickets are a serious matter. Getting a ticket on the roads in Clark County can have a huge impact on your life. Failure to follow the instructions on the ticket, such as appearing in court on the appointed date and time, or not paying out the ticket before that date can result in penalties that can have a negative impact on your quality of life.
What Happens if I Don’t Pay the Ticket?
The first thing to understand is if you do pay the ticket, it is equivalent to pleading guilty or no contest in court. You will have a conviction added to your driving record, you will have points added under Nevada’s 12-point system. A conviction for driving 1-10 mph over the limit results in 1 point; 11-20 mph over = 2 points; 21-30 = 3 points, etc. Once you accumulate 12 points, the DMV will suspend your license for six months.
If you don’t pay the ticket or appear in court, a bench warrant will be issued, which, if stopped again, will result in your arrest and some time in jail, until you can arrange payment for the open tickets and settle the fines and costs associated with the ticket.
Fines Can Accumulate Quickly
Very seldom are tickets written for a single violation. If you are driving on an expired, or out of state registration, or worse, an expired registration from out of state, the fines can accumulate very quickly. Nevada requires anyone who lives in Nevada to update his or her registration within 30 days of establishing residency in the state.
If you were using your cell phone at the time of the traffic stop or were otherwise driving while being distracted, you may be cited for violation of Nevada’s distracted driving laws. This carries additional fines and costs. Just to be clear, it is a violation of Nevada law to be driving and texting at the same time. Holding a cell phone to your ear while driving is a violation. Nevada law requires a hands-free device to talk on the phone while driving.
If you were driving without your seatbelt, it is another violation that will be added to the citation.
A DUI charge is a very serious matter, which requires the attention of a well-qualified attorney to navigate.
How Can Ticket Busters Help?
Before you pay out your ticket or attempt to resolve it on your own, call us to talk about it. In most cases, we can negotiate a reduced penalty for most moving violations. In most cases, moving violations can be reduced to parking violations. We can obtain reductions in fines for the moving violations. We can save you from losing a day of work while waiting to appear in court. We can help you avoid additional points on your driving record and the increased costs of insurance that result from a speeding conviction. In many cases, even DUI charges can be reduced to lesser penalties.
Yes, we will charge a one-time fee for our service, but it is much less than the ongoing increases in insurance rates that even a single ticket can generate. We know the local courts, and we have established relationships with most Clark County courts.
This is what we do… That’s why we’re called Ticket Busters. Call us today at (702) 666-6666.