What does it mean when you “fail to yield”?
There are certain instances when you are required to yield even when there isn’t particularly a yield sign present instructing you to do so. For example, when a driver does not give the right of way to a pedestrian, bicyclist, or an emergency vehicle, they have failed to yield. One common instance in which motorists are required to yield is when you are making a left turn in an intersection. You may have a green light or a flashing yellow arrow, and in both instances, you are required to yield to oncoming traffic.
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, failure to yield the right-of-way is the leading cause of traffic accidents in Nevada.
Be aware that many failure to yield accidents occur in one of these three instances:
- Making a turn – commonly a left turn
- At crosswalks
- When emergency vehicles are present
Las Vegas penalties for failure to yield violations vary. Here are some common violations and the penalties that apply.
Failing to yield while making a turn
- Penalties: Fine of $305 and 4 demerit points on your license
When you hire Ticket Busters to help take care of your “failure to yield” traffic ticket, your charges may be able to be reduced to a non-moving violation or even potentially dropped. Our attorneys may be able to prove that you in-fact did yield and were falsely ticketed, and if you were in the midst of an emergency, there is a possibility of your attorney getting the charges reduced. This will save points on your license and a rise in your insurance costs, as well as the associated ticket fines.
Failure to yield to a pedestrian at a crosswalk
- Penalties: Fines of up to $1,000 and/or up to 6 months in jail
- Collisions caused as a result of failing to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk can become a case of reckless driving which incurs more severe penalties
- First offense: Fines from $250 to $1,000 and 50 to 99 hours of community service
- Second offense: Fines from $1,000 to $1,500 and 100 to 199 hours of community service
- Third or consecutive offense: Fines from $1,500 to $2,000 and 200 hours of community service
Note: A court may add fines up to $1,000, up to 6 months of jail time, or 120 hours of community service if the pedestrian was in a safety zone.
- Failure to yield to a pedestrian resulting in bodily harm or death
- Fines from $2,000-$5,000 and 1-6 years in Nevada State Prison
It is the law for vehicles to yield to pedestrians in a crosswalk. The consequences of failing to yield to pedestrians can be life altering. Hiring an attorney to represent you is imperative in order to look at all of the details of the incident and provide you with the defense you deserve. Ticket Busters attorneys may be able to prove a lack of substantial evidence showing driver negligence, as well as possible wrongdoing on the pedestrian’s part, whether it was disobeying traffic signals or potentially abruptly stepping into traffic.
Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle – including police cars, fire trucks, ambulances
- Penalties: Fine of $395 and 4 demerit points on your license
- Fines may be up to $790 for violations occurring in work zones
It is the law in Nevada to yield to emergency vehicles regardless of which type it is. Drivers are required to proceed with caution around incidents requiring emergency vehicles on the scene by slowing down and stopping if necessary, and when conditions permit, they must give way and move to another lane. With the representation of an attorney, it is possible to get the ticket reduced to a non-moving violation. This will avoid insurance costs rising along with incurring demerit points on your license which result in suspension for 6 months when a driver reaches 12 demerit points within a year.
Ignoring a traffic ticket does not make it go away. It will cause much more harm than if you just handle it. And the best way to handle your traffic ticket no matter what the violation, is to call the attorneys at Ticket Busters. Whether you have received a ticket for a failure to yield, other common traffic violations, or may be facing potentially severe charges associated with reckless driving, our team of attorneys and legal professionals are here to help. Call us at: 702.666.6666.