Child Safety Restraint Laws in Nevada
There is much to know when it comes to driving a motor vehicle with a child.
Many of these laws have been around for some time while others may be much more recent.
As of January 1, 2022 the state of Nevada has added some requirements for booster seats and rear facing car seats.
Getting rear-ended in a car crash happens all the time in Vegas, and it’s best to be prepared.
Industry and safety professionals have now recommended new laws for protecting children in cars.
Assembly Bill 118 requires a child 2 years old and under to be in a rear facing car seat.
There are other parts of this bill that have to do with the age and or weight of the child.
When can a child sit in the front seat of a vehicle in Nevada?
At the moment there is no age requirement for a kid to sit in the front seat of a car.
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does give a recommendation of 12 years old.
It can be very confusing with all these rules and then finding out the rules have changed like this one.
It used to be about the weight of the child had to be 60 pounds.
Now it’s about the height.
There are also other exceptions to the rule that have to do with special needs children.
If there is no back seat in the car another exception may be possible.
A physician or nurse practitioner can make the determination that a child restraint system could cause more harm used than if not.
There could be certain factors that have to do with the child’s medical condition. In this special circumstance the driver of the child must carry with them the signed statement from the physician or nurse.
The state laws on the books allow the police to issue a ticket for anyone in the vehicle that is not wearing a seat belt.
This means any passenger or driver in the car.
The law also makes it a requirement to issue a citation to the driver of a vehicle that is not restraining the child passenger properly in the automobile.
Why Call Ticket Buster
If you find yourself getting pulled over and being issued a child restraint ticket in Nevada it is time to call Ticket Busters.
They have the professional legal defense council that you need at a time like this.
Call for a free consultation.
Penalties for Failing to Properly Secure a Child Passenger
In the state of Nevada NRS 484B.157 is the law which requires child restraint seats in cars.
The section of the law requires child restraints for kids under 6 and less than 57 inches.
This type of ticket is a misdemeanor in the state of Nevada. This penalty doesn’t carry any demerit points with it.
If this is the first offense the fines may vary in the state between $100 and $500.
There could be 10 to 50 hours of community service as well.
On the next offense the penalties will always increase as will the hours of community service.
The second offense the cost goes to $500 to $1000. Community service is now 50 to 100 hours.
The third offense the driver’s license could be suspended for 30 to 180 days.
Don’t mess around with any of these tickets.
Don’t ever ignore a ticket no matter how minor it may seem.
We all know what happens next.
The judge issues a bench warrant and that’s not good.
Types of Rear and Forward-Facing Car Seats
Car crashes happen all around us in Nevada.
It is important to have a good quality car seat or booster to help protect the children and infants in an accident.
Car accidents are a leading reason for children’s fatalities.
Always make sure to get the right kind of car seat and properly install it.
This will provide valuable protection when traveling with the kids and help keep them safe.
Infant rear facing car seats provide protection to newborns and infants.
These types of seats usually will be ok for about a year before the infant outgrows it.
The convertible seat type is recommended when they outgrow the infant seat.
This has a harness system that can change to forward facing as the child gets bigger.
The All-In-One Seat can go both rear and forward facing and has different sizes that can adjust to the needs of the growing child.
The harness seat belt system can help protect the spine and head of the child if an accident does occur.
Important Information on Booster Seats
The recommendation is to keep your child in a forward-facing seat with a harness and tether until they outgrow the seat.
Then it is time for the booster but the child should still stay in the back seat. This usually ranges between the ages of 4 – 7 years old.
This should last until the child is big enough to fit properly in a regular seat and seatbelt system.
Riding in the back seat is generally considered safer for the developing child if in an accident.
How to Pick a Car Seat for Your Child
It is recommended to choose a seat that is right for the age and size of the child.
Make sure that the seat also fits the vehicle that you drive and is secure.
It is important to install the car seat correctly. If the child outgrows the car seats height and weight specifications than it is time to get another seat in order to safely travel.
A children’s safety should always come first.
Remember, the seat belt should be comfortable across the chest and shoulder area and lie across the top of the child’s thighs.
Definitely don’t have the belt near the face or neck area.
Child restraints and seat belts are of utmost importance to help prevent injury to an infant or kid in a car crash.
Although these things will not prevent an accident from happening, they will most likely help reduce the severity of the injuries.
This also increases the chance of survival if the child restraints are used properly.
They will help you save money and time in court. Full transparency and a clear set of expectations is key in helping clients and an important part of the company’s success.
Car Accidents and Children Risks
Any time a kid or infant get into a vehicle there is risk of injury.
It is important to be aware of the dangers and how these situations can occur.
- DUI – Driving intoxicated is a major cause of child death and serious injury. In a majority of the accidents the person driving was actually the one under the influence. It makes no sense to be out on the roads drunk or high especially if driving with an infant or child.
- No child restraints – This is also a major reason for the large number of child deaths in a car accident. Having no car seat, booster or seat belt on the child is incredibly dangerous and harmful if an accident happens.
- Not properly used – If the car seat or booster is not secured right or not used correctly makes for a dangerous ride. Take the time to properly use the seat. The harness and belt system are just as important in making sure your child is safe.
There are child restraint laws for good reason.
The Community Preventive Services Task Force makes it known that they are for the issuing of tickets as a deterrent to those not complying.
The evidence is strong that restraint regulations help decrease injuries and deaths in child passengers of vehicles.
Educational programs, media advertisements as well as car seat distribution programs in Nevada are just a few ways of getting the word out.
It is possible that a ticket was issued to you unfairly. Maybe your child met all the height, weight and age requirements necessary.
Ticket Busters will fight for you.
In some cases, if the evidence is lacking Ticket Busters and their skilled attorneys can even get the ticket dropped.
Common Child Injuries in A Car Accident
A child like an adult passenger in a vehicle is more likely to be injured if they are not wearing a seat belt or a type of restraint system.
- Head and Face Injuries – Concussions, TBI, cuts and lacerations are some of the common types.
- Rib Injuries – In an accident the car restraints can sometimes cause injury to an infant or 1 year old.
- Whiplash – In rear end accidents the neck of a child can be vulnerable to injury.
- Emotional Injury- Mental and psychological trauma can result after a child has been in a car accident.